Seattle Reads!!

Wow.

20140422-221715.jpg
I love the library. I particularly love Seattle’s library (the whole system). Every year they do something called Seattle Reads and there’s a book and then events with the author and book clubs, other related events, etc.
So I’m a little late to the party, but this years selection is For All of Us, One Today by Richard Blanco.
He was the poet for the 2013 inauguration. I don’t want to get all political here, BUT did any of you hear the poem? Or read it? Look it up immediately! One Today. It brought tiny little tears to my eyes. It made me feel strong, proud, and nostalgic. It made me feel so close to the ones I love. The best review I can say is that I really enjoyed it and I want to share. I don’t think it matters how you feel about politics, the poem is for everyone.
Anyway, I’ve been ignoring this years selection because its a memoir and about a poet… So I really didn’t think I was that interested. But when I went to the library today they had some little pamphlets about the events, so I grabbed one. Thanks library for sharing this with me! And I think even if people don’t read the whole memoir, maybe if everyone just heard the poem, they would feel … I don’t know… Something.

Now I can’t wait to read the memoir, and maybe go to the author discussion! Do any of you have something good you read lately? A favorite poem? Something that moved you?

5 thoughts on “Seattle Reads!!

  1. Very beautiful 🙂 makes our daily tasks, even if they get to be mundane, feel very important. Everyone is important and makes up our world/community. It does make me feel closer! We’re all in it together!

  2. i like this poem a lot! I especially noticed how he made several references to how relationships make a difference in our lives how he was able to write the poem and go to school because his parents worked so hard. It is nice that he recognizes that while tying in the everyday life experience.

Leave a Reply

