I knit a hat!

well, I knit myself a whole hat! I followed a pattern! First time for everything. I watched a lot of Dr. Who (surprise!) and YouTube knitting videos. I think I watched the slip-slip-knit video about 12 times before I figured that one out.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/capucine

Here’s my source-make sure you click on that link to see the hat in all its full glory as I think mine is a touch too small!

O! Without further ado…here it is!

Image

hanging down are kind of like “ear flaps”

Image

can you believe I made that? no holes or anything…

Image

Here’s with the ear flaps pointing down

Image

side view of that. see, a little small maybe? and I didn’t have enough yarn for the tassels. Honestly, I didn’t even think this was going to work out, I was just using it as practice and an excuse to keep watching t.v. (first pattern ever!) maybe next time I will actually make a swatch and everything.

Image

Here’s how I usually wear the hat. Pulled down tight over my forehead. ear flaps are now kind of pointing back.

Image

side view of that.

Image

and I’m actually entertaining the idea of connecting the ear flaps with a button because they are in the perfect spot for my hair to pop out.

Image

super cute! I love this hat! you may see more knitting from me!

technical note: I used double pointed needles! everything else I forgot because this project has been sitting around with 1 or 2 lines knitted for about 3 years!

!

5 thoughts on “I knit a hat!

Leave a Reply

