Apple Cake

Welp….something strange happened and I decided to do some baking. After pretty much relaxing for the last 4 weeks I had to make it! Really we got some awesome applesauce (oh those samples got us good ;)) from Costco and I saw this recipe used some.

20131029-145300.jpg

I was browsing Pinterest and found a recipe from addapincch.com. It looked good 🙂 I browsed the cabinets quick to make sure we had all the recipes…got it!

It’s only suppose to take 10 minutes but it took me a little longer with my cooking buddy…well, and for other reasons

20131029-145750.jpg

Anyway…I started mixing 2 cups flour, 1 Tbsp baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, and 1 cup brown sugar. Then add 2 apples chopped up, 3/4 cup of applesauce, 1 cup of milk, and 8 Tbsp of melted butter.

SHOOT! We only had about 3 and a near empty butter dish. So I cleaned that out and called it good. It was pretty close, crisis averted….until I went to make the topping.

1/2 cup of flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar no problem. 4 more Tbsp of butter-yikes! I love toppings too so when Adam got up I ran to the store. Boo ya! Add that and 1/4 oats…wait, we don’t have oats either…. Ummm? Back to the store? I opted just to go without…nobody got time for another store trip within the last 5 minutes.

Bake for 40-45 minutes at 350.

The original recipe and lots more delicious looking stuff can be found here.

Mine turned out just ok…but maybe that was because of all my problems 😉 guess I’m a little out of baking practice!

20131029-151217.jpg

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

