Fleas…AKA Why I’m NOT Sewing

Hmmm. Where should I begin? The twins caught fleas. So I haven’t been in have hurry to roll fabric out on the floor and cut and drape…
I’m getting really excited to finish the quilt though! It looks better than I thought it would!
So for the dogs I made them some biscuits

20130924-020357.jpg
These have brewers yeast and garlic powder which fleas do NOT like!

Dry mix::

Mix 4 cups flour (I used a mix of whole wheat and rye flours cause they have been hanging out here for a little too long … Gotta test em on the dogs)
1 cup quick cook oats
1 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup brewers yeast ( you can get this at vitamin store or I hear its also at whole foods
2 TBSP garlic powder
All together in a big bowl

Wet mix::

Get 2 cups beef bouillon and bring it to room temp if possible. When it’s cooked add
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1-2 finely grated carrots
Also I had some shredded cheese that was getting old – about 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup – so I tossed that in too!

Add the wet to the dry and mixxxxxxx

And knead- use lots o flour!

And roll out 1/4-1/2″ thick slab

And slice or use cookie cutters

I also pricked holes with a toothpick to add some decoration. I don’t think that they would rise or anything but the holes make them look really cute.

I put foil down on my pan and baked at 300 degrees F for 90 whole minutes. Then cool off on racks. Then store at room temp-loosely covered. They are supposed to keep about a week. Not if the babies have anything to say about it!

(Mainly copied -some small variations from MacPherson’s K-9 COOKBOOK One of the most used cookbooks in my kitchen 😉

So beyond that, I’ve been vacuuming and cleaning daily. The dogs got baths and seem to be fine though we’re keeping a close watch.

20130924-021849.jpg

What the heck! I made scalloped potatoes! Seriously iron chef style. It was the most fast and furious mess I’ve ever made in the kitchen. But I didn’t want josh to buy the boxed kind. So. This is all we’re eating for dinner. O ya. And some bacon bits!

Peel and slice about 8 smallish medium potatoes. (Basically make enough for your 13×9″ pan)
Now! Do the prep work ahead of time because I did not and I think I made some fatal flaws.
Grate cheese-3cups!
Measure 2 cups milk and 1/2 cup half-and-half (you can put them together if u want)
Grease your 13×9″
In a very big stovetop container melt 1/2 stick butter. Once it’s melted keep on med heat and add 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp onion powder, and a handful of flour. The recipes I was basing this off of actually said anywhere from 3 tsps to 1/4 cup flour but at this point I had run out of (dropped my only) measuring implement(s) and flour was flying all about. Anyway, I may have put in a bit too much because it immediately congealed up into a paste. I believe we are supposed to be making a ROUX here. This was my first one and I’m not sure i did it right. Anyway. At this point I added in the milk and half-half and stirred so hard I thought my arm was going. To. Fall. Off. There was milky stuff flying all over even in my hair. Luckily I think my heat was calm enough and I didn’t end up with 3rd degree burns. Stir until it gets a bit thicker AnD all of the chunks from the “roux” are incorporated. All the recipes I looked at said a few minutes, like 3, but I did this at least 10… Who knows…

Now add 2 cups grated cheese! What!? Your cheese is still in a block!?!? Me too!! Uh oh! As fast as you can before the smoke detector goes off!! I actually turned off the heat here because I had a bit of catching up to do 😉 but it still stirred an nice and silky! Yumm! Now stir in your sliced potatoes. Although I must warn you to drop them in daintily or you will have a huge splash, losing over 1/2 of your liquid and requiring you to start over. All I have to say about that is thank goodness I kicked the dogs out of the kitchen before that went down because could you imagine having to go tell Josh I just spilt cheese soup all over the puppies the very day he just paid $140 to get them professional baths!?!?

Shew. (Sorry this is so log and especially the run on sentences, I’m in a hurry to eat more)

Ok assuming yours is still intact, stir well and pour it all into your greased pan. Cover with foil and bake 40 minutes at 350 degrees F. Then uncover, sprinkle on your last cup of cheese, and bake another 40 minutes. Meanwhile clean up your chaotic kitchen and cross your fingers you have a dishwasher.

At the end just let it sit a few minutes so the sauce can thicken a bit. Mmmmmm. Definitely beats the box. And much more adventure!

Also-check out my apple- it’s red INSIDE!!

20130924-024043.jpg

One last thing. Have I showed you my haircut?

20130924-024124.jpg

Sorry it’s been forever but hopefully the decontamination works and I’ll be back to sewing soon!

3 thoughts on “Fleas…AKA Why I’m NOT Sewing

Leave a Reply

