I Seriously love America!

20130705-004319.jpg wow! Do you like my 90’s hairdo? Nice and puffy 🙂 I miss you all so I thought I should fill you in on the latest in the PNW.

20130705-004451.jpg I went camping! And tons of hiking! Love it! Even bought a pair of hiking boots! ( I’m not in the pic tho…)
I’ve been reading a ton! The final book in the Underhanded and the Right trilogy(AWESOME! Look for it!), Harry Potters(!!!), Sookie and the vampires (meh. Wouldn’t recommend but easy mindless is nice sometimes after long hours of work.), I just finished a really good one – The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe. So look into that!

20130705-004555.jpg
I have been eating loads of peaches and loads of corn. Mmmmmmmm!

20130705-004639.jpg
Ooohhhhh andddd RADISHES! I don’t remember where I learned this but sprinkle a touch of salt over them and let them sit and sweat a bit. Then rinse them off (my friend Madi says you don’t have to rinse) and chow down!

20130705-004844.jpg
I put them on crackers!

20130705-004916.jpg
That’s kind of a nasty picture…Lentils! Have you guys ever cooked lentils before? (I think they kind of smell like weed. A very faint smell.) anyway, I hear they are big protein so might as well try. Most of the recipes I found were for soups. Which I still HATE soup of any kind so that is not going to work for me. Instead I’m making a salad. Cook the lentils (1 cup dry) how it says to on the package and then place them in the fridge to cool.

20130705-005315.jpg chop any veggies you an find. I used a whole cucumber, 5 small to medium carrots, and a few radishes. Look-4 cups of chopped veggies!

20130705-005457.jpg
Line up all the usual suspects and whisk!
-4 TBSP olive oil (60 mL)
-1 TBSP Dijon mustard (15 mL)
-1 TBSP rice vinegar (15 mL)
-1 TBSP honey (15 mL)
I also added about 3 cups of shredded CABG (cabbage for the non nurses) so I guess it’s kind of like a slaw…

20130705-005828.jpg

20130705-005841.jpg
So good! (Double trouble up there, I don’t really know what’s happening with that!)
Turned out much better than I expected for a recipe I came up with myself! So proud 🙂 now off to start a super long stretch of work (5/6 days) and massive chore piles before vacation!
I’m so proud to be an American even though I don’t always agree with everything we do. We have so many good things here, so much opportunity, so many forward thinking minds, a hygiene standard…happy Independence Day! God bless America!
I guess there is a funny story about that. I really wanted to see fireworks so we decided to go down to a park nearby and watch them across the lake. For some reason I didn’t really think anyone else would have that same idea, and it would be nice and peaceful. We thought it might be so peaceful even the dogs could go?! What? Seriously, we thought it would be worse for them alone in the garage. All if our neighbors have been doing blasts all day and still going now at 0115. Well I had no idea the beach would be packed AND all the spectators brought their own (amazing. Awesome. Beautiful. LOUD.) fireworks! Oohhhh boy. I haven’t seen them in a few years so we couldn’t turn around! Poor babies. They actually did a really great job and just cuddled up next to us. I’ve never seen Koda jump in the car so fast though. Usually he stalls getting in because of his hip issues but he did not hesitate, he FLEW into my car! The fireworks were gorgeous! All of them! I thought fireworks were expensive, but there were a ton being set off by regular citizens! Where do they get these? I loved it!

Leave a Reply

