Asparagus and Red Pepper Pasta

Tonight, I’m feeling like a food genius!!

We didn’t defrost any meat and didn’t have any set plans for dinner so we were at a loss when we got home. Adam suggested we make a pasta dish with our red peppers. I’ve made one before with roasted garlic so we thought we could improvise.

(I’m horrible at improvising in the kitchen. I wish I could open the fridge and pull out stuff and whip up an amazing dinner…but I can’t. And I usually try to improvise recipes by altering or adding things and it typically doesn’t work so hot either. I also have problems setting timers when things are cooking, but I’m learning! All in all-unless I’m trying really hard, I’m a kitchen disaster!! ;))

So-I feel like a genius because I googled “red pepper and asparagus pasta” found this killer, easy recipe, and followed it to a T. Perfection!

It looks kinda gnarly here but don’t be fooled, it was amazing!!

20130411-195752.jpg

Red Pepper and Asparagus Pasta (you can find the original recipe from the link above)
1.) sauté 5 cloves of minced garlic and 1 tsp of red pepper flakes in 1 Tbs of butter, 1/4 cup of olive oil, and 2-3 dashes of hot sauce for about a minute. (The butter and olive oil sounds like a lot and I wanted to cut back but it coats the pasta later so it’s not so dry)
2.) Meanwhile-start boiling your pasta of choice…about 1/2 pound.
3.) add 1 lb of asparagus and/or red pepper (broccoli and any pepper would be delicious too!) to the garlic mix for about 8-10 minutes until it is the desired crispness.
4.) when it’s ready add Parmesan cheese to the veggie mix and toss with the drained pasta.
5.) eat your heart out!!!

20130411-200536.jpg

Seriously it was delicious!! And had a good kick to it also! We ate a TON but still had enough for lunch tomorrow and I can’t wait!

I love quick, easy, cheap, and delicious meals! Anybody have any really good ones?!? Or great sites to check out to find more?!

Leave a Reply

