Rotisserie Chicken Soup

Yesterday Adam brought home a rotisserie chicken…..and we’ve been eating well ever since! Who knew it could be so tasty, so cheap, and make so many meals!

After I took the meat off the chicken I made a sandwich and Adam added some to his pasta. And for dinner we made chicken quesadillas-yum! We decided to get adventurous and use the chicken bones to make something too, instead of just tossing it.

So last night we simmered the bones in some water with salt and a bay leaf…

20130225-193148.jpg
Put in the fridge over night. Scooped the congealed fat from the top and drained out all the innards. I didn’t have the heart to take a picture of that…haha

I chopped up some veggies, onions, and garlic.

20130225-193410.jpg
I heard that if you light a candle while chopping onions it doesn’t make you cry…so I wanted to try. I didn’t cry but my nose burned. And I was wearing my contacts which usually keep me safe too. Has anyone tried it? I need to do more experimentation with it and while wearing glasses to really put it to the test.

Anyway…back to the soup. Before adding the veggies I put in about 3 cups of water. We dug through our cabinets and found some navy beans and penne pasta that we threw in with some parsley and chunks of the meat I took off yesterday.

20130225-193737.jpg

It was delicious!!!!!

We will definitely be making this again!

And get rotisserie chicken much more frequently! We already had 6 meals (3 for each of us) and still have enough meat left for at least one more each. Plus, now we can make soups or stock/broth on our own!!! So cheap when we can break it down like that-plenty of meals and also a stock to make others too!!

Anybody have any good rotisserie chicken recipes to use for the meat?!

*updated 11/17/13: I noticed looking back on this post I never put an actual recipe. We made soup so much last year we started dumping in whatever we had. So feel free to do that too…it usually still works great! The recipe below is the basic one we use…and I must say, we enjoy it more than the chicken noodle from Panera! How ’bout that huh?!?

Chicken Soup
Ingredients:
2, 32 oz chicken broth (or homemade stock, or 1, 32 oz with water)
2-4 chicken breasts as desired (or throw in rotisserie meat, as much as desired)
3-4 carrots
3-4 stalks of celery (I like loaded veggies so I add lots!)
3 cloves of garlic
1/2 big sweet onion
1/2 -1 bag of egg noodles (as much as desired! More if you add water to cut the broth
Salt and pepper to taste
Parsley to taste

1. Pour the broth or stock into a big pot and start heating. Add water if desired.
2. Prepare chicken. If cooking the breasts sauté with a little olive oil and the garlic. Or just use rotisserie chicken to taste. Lately, we’ve put 2 breasts in the crockpot, covered in water with salt and pepper cooked on low all day until were ready to make the soup. Shred before adding.
3. Chop carrots, celery, onion, parsley, press or chop garlic (if not sautéed with chicken) and add to the pot.
4. Bring to a boil.
5. Add noodles as desired
6. Once noodles are done check the carrots. If they’re both soft enough it’s all done!
7. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Rotisserie Chicken Soup

  1. Pingback: Baked Penne Florentine | Fearsome 5 (& family!)

Leave a Reply

